top of page
  • Betsy P.

Glacier National Park


Saturday

WOW! I woke up in the middle of the night Friday, sweating and feeling miserable. For the next 12 - 24 hours I felt like I was either going to die, or worried I wasn't. I don't ever remember being that sick. On Saturday Morning we went over to the lodge and changed our all day Red Car Tour of the Park to an afternoon one - hoping I would feel better by then. From the nausea, chills, fever, and actually throwing up it just kept getting worse. I would be able to nap for a while and then I would wake up feeling even worse. Tom hovered over me, and we went down to do the orientation film and I checked with the ranger on duty and they said since I was feeling so bad, they would let Tom in the Park on my pass. I finally convenience him to go see some of the Park without me and took another nap. About 4 in the afternoon, I woke up and thought if it got any worse, I needed to call a doctor or an ambulance. Thank god, the next time I woke up, I felt a little better. Tom made it back and we just hung out - really just me napping off and on.

The next day I felt I could get up finally and we did a short trip up to Many Glaciers, but no hiking for us. They have a Swiss Chalet Lodge up there - it's almost to the Canadian border. We thought originally we would pass over just to say we visited Canada - there's a Canadian Glacier Park! - who knew, but by the time we left the Many Glacier Hotel area, I was done for the day, just walking through the parking lot. It was windy and chilly but it felt good to be up and out.

We headed back to the cabin for an early night.

We only had the cabin for 2 nights - with the thought that would give us enough time on the eastern side of the Park. I would have liked to stay longer, but we had reservations on the otherside of the Park, and I really was only up to sitting in a car and admiring the scenery, so we packed up and hit the Going to the Sun Road.

The scenery was unwordly, the sky so blue and crisp. The Mountains still had ice on them in the last half of July! We passed a couple of Rvs doing the trip and I don't know how they make some of the turns on the road.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Friday - July 26, 2013

White Sulfur Springs We woke up after our first night in the 30 ft RV. Got a little cold during the night, but adjusting the windows and an extra layer. Prediction was for a low of 50, and I did app

bottom of page