top of page
  • Betsy

Margaret

Updated: Jun 4, 2020


Margaret was always like an older sister to me, rather than an Aunt. I never called her "Aunt Margaret" and I don't remember why. I just remember that I always felt happy around her. She was probably the first woman I knew in the workforce. While she was working in DC, I remember that she left very early in the morning (before it got light) and coming home late. I never realized just how much time she spent on the road until I started commuting.

I don't really remember the wedding that much - I was probably about 7 or 8. I do remember having to wear a dress (ugh!) and Nelton being so full of people that I hid under the big square piano in the front hall - I was afraid of being trampled.

After she got married and moved into DC, she and Frank had a basement apartment that I would visit a couple of times. I remember walking the dog - so foreign to someone from a country farm, and eating "different" food. I was always expected to taste, but if I really hated it she didn't make me clean my plate.

I don't remember what participated the move to the house, but it was probably the kids coming along.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page